The Watchers - A.M. Shine

The Watchers

By A.M. Shine

  • Release Date: 2021-10-14
  • Genre: Horror
4 Score: 4 (From 87 Ratings)

Description

Soon to be a MAJOR MOTION PICTURE produced by M. NIGHT SHYAMALAN and starring DAKOTA FANNING.

You can't see them. But they can see you.

This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.

Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.

Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers, and why are they keeping the humans imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?

A spine-chilling debut horror adventure set in the remote and sinister forests of Ireland, from critically acclaimed Irish writer A.M. Shine.

'A dark, claustrophobic read' T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grace
'Readers get an intimate glimpse into the fraying edges of each character's psyches, the constant hunger, the paranoia, the loss of hope, and far worse... The Watchers will appeal to fans of Kealan Patrick Burke, Josh Malerman, and Scott Smith' A.E. Siraki, Booklist

Reviews

  • Horrible!

    1
    By iamellaelise
    Seriously, it’s perfect that M. Night’s daughter is directing the film version of this, because this book has all the shallow hallmarks of his recent fare, including the most eye-rolling ending. And if I ever have to read the term “the yellow one” again, I’ll go mad. It’s not worth it. I’m deleting it from my library so I don’t have to remember it. Skip!!

Comments