The Last House on Needless Street - Catriona Ward

The Last House on Needless Street

By Catriona Ward

  • Release Date: 2021-09-28
  • Genre: Horror
4 Score: 4 (From 295 Ratings)

Description

"The buzz...is real. I've read it and was blown away. It's a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end." —Stephen King

Winner of the British Fantasy Award for Best Horror Novel!
A World Fantasy Award Finalist!
An Indie Next Pick! A LibraryReads Top 10 Pick!
A Library Journal Editors' Pick! STARRED reviews from Library Journal and Publishers Weekly!
Named one of the "50 Best Horror Books of All Time" by Esquire!

"Brilliant....[a] deeply frightening deconstruction of the illusion of the self." The New York Times

Catriona Ward's The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking and immersive read perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.

In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three.

A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.
A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.
And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible.

An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.

“The new face of literary dark fiction.” —Sarah Pinborough

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Reviews

  • 🤫

    5
    By goodciccio
    Unsettling and so compelling. I couldn’t stop reading. Starting another one of her book now!
  • Thriller

    5
    By FFF93
    Thriller
  • Sort of liked it

    3
    By Dano425
    This was a very good story until the very end. I did not like how Ted turned out to be the murderer all along. I was certain that it was going to be his twin sister. Worth a read though.
  • Just wow

    5
    By adip2017
    I found this book incredibly touching. For something classified as a horror novel, I find this to be the exact opposite. While there were many gripping moments and plot twists that kept you on edge, there was always something more to be left to the imagination. I highly recommend this book as it has changed my perception on certain concepts and ideas. If you’re thinking about picking this up, just read it.
  • Great read! Mind bending!

    5
    By FeetyPJs
    I’ve never read anything quite like this. Such a complex story told in an easy to read way. Thoroughly enjoyed!
  • Wildly imaginative yet very realistic

    4
    By kaykaybean13
    Ted is a young man in his 30’s now but as a young child he lived with intense despondency abject abuse and harrowing neglect. He has been adapting to his world and it’s gross unjustifiable neglect abuse and unimaginable cruelty that he’s learned to fragment himself from the reality and the abuses he’s experienced and has allowed only one person to live in his memory and because he’s prone to severe mental illness and can’t rely on his memory as those who’ve not been in circumstances can, he is often confused as to what is actually happening or if he’s seeing and living through the now or if he’s experiencing some kind of altered mind state. When the anniversary for the little girl who was abducted from the pond behind his home, he has severe mental health issues and is prone to depression black outs and “missing days” in which he’s not sure what transpired and if he was the cause of something bad or more sinister like the missing children that have been missing around the lake for years upon years. He has a history or confusion about his dad and his whereabouts and as welll as his mothers he remembers that he’s seen and dug up bodies and things buried in his back woods on route to lake but he’s not sure what they are or if he’s ever going to come back to his mindset and remember but as a new neighbor moves in next who has suspicions about Ted and what’s happening inside his house his whole axis spins off the edge. When it’s finally set back on it’s right side of things, the truth will absolutely blow your mind and your heart aches as you hear what this person has endured and how they managed to live through what they’ve been through and how they’ve been since seeking treatment, finding a friend and telling the truth about what they’ve been keeping hidden inside the trap walls of their mind. Incredibly and astoundingly well done, the imagination the author has created and taken to a whole new dimension of how the mind works has been impressive beyond belief, if one could imagine what a day is like for those who share his affliction, I think she’s done a genius job in allowing us to see inside the complex and dynamic worlds of the minds of those who have lived through horror and despair having severe abuse inflicted upon them with no one to stop it or protect them from their suffering and abuse. These are remarkable and incredibly strong inspiring and powerful people who have been forced to endure harrowing atrocities yet they’ve managed to overcome these horrific horrors as a very young child and still has made it their mission to protect that child within. Controversial mental health disorders and diseases but I have no doubt this in fact does exist and is the brilliant mind of a child to find the most effective way to help themselves and through that means of disappearing or leaving their body and minds they have incredibly found themselves some relief and lessens their stress and trauma from within themselves. Those who question the veracity of those who have lived trauma abuse neglect and abject ignorance of their agency as humans and children should not be allowed to treat their own patients as they’ve quickly dismissed something that they’ve found some kind of moral or ethical issue with the breaking of one to many as it contradicts their religious beliefs and the teachings they’ve been taught having no basis to refute the existence or affliction of those who’ve been interviewed and studied for years and have never faultered in their statements or experiences with multiple sources of self within their one “self” or “one souled” mind and body yet it’s had little study, even less evidence and participation in these studies to have conducted any kind of research and study into this very old phenomena yet it wasn’t ever seen as separate from schizophrenia yet it absolutely is and while there’s a very strong correlation of similar cases within the small sample groups that have been studied and have been under psych care and treatment for them has been given a wide range of ways to help improve their mental functioning and their mental health overall although it would seem prudent that acknowledging and having compassion for these individuals should be first priority and it’s likely that they’ll learn from this and the experiences that they have been studying to further provide a unbiased and accurate assessment and diagnosis for all.
  • Very slow

    3
    By brandeye33
    The reviews on this were generous in my opinion . I read halfway into it until I was finally intrigued to read the rest. Not usually my type of book though but, I was looking for something different. Interesting and well researched just not my cup of tea!
  • A must read for lovers of psychological thrillers/mysteries

    5
    By Rellla🍭🍭
    Very original, imaginative, well researched and well written. I couldn’t put it down. One of my all time favorites.
  • Incredible Book

    5
    By Ltlover21
    I actually read the hard cover after stumbling upon it in a little book store. But now I am looking for more from this author. This book had me wanting more the whole time. I haven’t been able to get through a book in some time because of my schedule but I made time for this book. Cleverly written, keeps you on your toes and has a very unique narration, including a cat who likes to read the Bible. If you like horror, this book is a definite read!
  • OMG, READ THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW!

    5
    By Emoleesong
    This is the best book I have read in a long time. And I read about a book a week. I read this in one day; I couldn’t put it down. It is truly entertaining and suspenseful. It is creepy and dark and beautiful and even, in places, funny. It will break your heart and warm your heart and then break it again, but in a better way. It does deal with some very intense and troubling subject matter. I don’t want to give specifics because it contains several twists that would be spoiled. Every time you think you know what the book is doing, it surprises you again and again. I did suspect one of the major reveals early on, but probably because it is something I am intimately familiar with. I think ultimately it is a book about suffering and survival. I have a couple of things about the book I would criticize, but overall it is BRILLIANT. Oh, and part of it is narrated by a cat.

Comments