Saturn Run - John Sandford & Ctein

Saturn Run

By John Sandford & Ctein

  • Release Date: 2015-10-06
  • Genre: Adventure
4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 286 Ratings)

Description

“Fans of Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will eat this up.” --Stephen King

For fans of THE MARTIAN, an extraordinary new thriller of the future from #1 New York Times–bestselling and Pulitzer Prize–winning author John Sandford and internationally known photo-artist and science fiction aficionado Ctein. 
 
Over the course of thirty-seven books, John Sandford has proven time and again his unmatchable talents for electrifying plots, rich characters, sly wit, and razor-sharp dialogue. Now, in collaboration with Ctein, he proves it all once more, in a stunning new thriller, a story as audacious as it is deeply satisfying.
 
The year is 2066. A Caltech intern inadvertently notices an anomaly from a space telescope—something is approaching Saturn, and decelerating. Space objects don’t decelerate. Spaceships do.
 
A flurry of top-level government meetings produces the inescapable conclusion: Whatever built that ship is at least one hundred years ahead in hard and soft technology, and whoever can get their hands on it exclusively and bring it back will have an advantage so large, no other nation can compete. A conclusion the Chinese definitely agree with when they find out.
 
The race is on, and an remarkable adventure begins—an epic tale of courage, treachery, resourcefulness, secrets, surprises, and astonishing human and technological discovery, as the members of a hastily thrown-together crew find their strength and wits tested against adversaries both of this earth and beyond. What happens is nothing like you expect—and everything you could want from one of the world’s greatest masters of suspense.

From the Hardcover edition.

Reviews

  • Couldn’t put it down.

    5
    By Nick4795
    Great read. Right mix of action, humanity, politics, and science.
  • Great! Sci-fi at its best.

    5
    By Cap'n Robert
    Heinlein would have loved it.
  • Space Prey (not)

    3
    By Crzyhrt
    Pretty good plotting like a real Sandford book, but without fully developed characters like Lucas Davenport or Virgil Flowers the book remains two dimensional.
  • Misleading

    2
    By Tornadoster
    I was looking for a book dealing with a "first contact scenario", and all I got was "rocket science". There was little discussion on alien technologies , just rocket science.
  • Absolutely stunning

    5
    By TommyPePe
    I started reading Sci Fi in the late 70's, and have been doing so ever since. Saturn Run is one of the finest I have ever read, right up there at the top 10 list.
  • Good scifi

    5
    By Hiker1973
    One of the better stories I have read in a while.
  • Saturn Run

    1
    By Yxurghaout
    Waste.
  • Grest idea

    3
    By guitarboat
    Wonderful story idea. Fine speculative fiction, but, alas, complete misfire with regard to the conclusion.
  • Best I've read in years

    5
    By More,more
    This is the best SyFy that I've read in years. It incorporates Sandford's ability to create living breathing characters, insert them into realistic storylines and Ctein's ability to describe technology within that story. Couldn't put it down! Reminds me of the old dudes like Issac Asimov. What we need is More!
  • And A. C. Doyle Didn't Write Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea...for a reason.

    2
    By Señor Momentz
    A bad cost-benefit ratio in terms of reading time-enjoyment. Way too much text is devoted to science and too little to plot. That the science would satisfy the engineers of various fields holds little merit for the average reader, who is completely willing to accept "wantum mechanics" that allow the action to move along at a brisk pace. I would venture to guess that this is a big reason there are numerous Star Trek-Star Wars movies, and only one "The Martian." However, as Mr. Sandford has provided me with hundreds of hours of enjoyment by relating the experiences of Lucas Davenport, Virgil Flowers, Kidd, et al, I'm willing to let this indulgence slide. Just don't do it again.

Comments