Bone in the Throat - Anthony Bourdain

Bone in the Throat

By Anthony Bourdain

  • Release Date: 2008-12-01
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
4 Score: 4 (From 32 Ratings)

Description

When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next. With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime.

In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction.

"A prodigiously self-assured first novel. . . the author's comic vision goes beyond original. It is deliciously depraved."-The New York Times Book Review

Reviews

  • Bone in Throat

    3
    By Gagsteter
    Bourdain's attempt at fiction pays off. After becoming engulfed in this story , I realized the same attention to specific details he put in his non-fiction cooking book "Kitchen Confidential",he uses proficiently with this restaurant related mob story. The characters that seem to be taken and asimilated from real life "goons" and protagonists were well placed. The first account real drug and restaurant experiences he has had, has done well in placing the scenes in our minds. An average writer would never had been able to acheve.

Comments